Food Obsession

21 Apr

Je suis gourmande”

My esthetician said this to me the other day as we discussed the trials and tribulations of ‘peau d’orange’ aka cellulite.  It’s one of those things where I’m relatively certain that I know what it means, but not entirely. I think it translates to, “I really enjoy food a lot and in fact if left to my own devices I would eat non stop but since I would like to put on a bathing suit from time to time I try my best not to but it’s an uphill battle.”

At least, that’s what it means to me. So yeah, I’m on the horse again with the whole let’s get fit and train the new dog and plant the whole garden and do pushups. I’m also back on the horse with writing my long neglected blog. Poor blog. How will it ever grow up to become a decent website if I don’t love it daily? Not possible.

What better way to draw the two of you who read my blog back in than with some pictures? Everybody likes pictures, right? So much easier than reading. I have a small obsession with food. Je suis gourmande. I take pictures of my food. Then I eat it. All. Pirate knows that if he wants a taste he’d better ask before I inhale my entire plate without even thoughfully offering up a nibble.  If he reaches in without asking he might not get his hand back. Poor Pirate. He’s not gourmand, though, so I don’t feel so bad. He doesn’t suffer anxiety at the question of where and when the next meal will come from even though the fridge is full and restaurants are open. He doesn’t clap with delight as his plate is placed in front of him. Well, I do. And I defend all who do so! I’m going to celebrate les gourmands with photos of food here in Guadeloupe. I hope they tempt you to visit, the place is growing on me, finally.

Below: fantastic meals at the restaurant right on the beach in Bananier. A great black sand beach suitable for beginning surfers. You’ll see the surf camp group if you go! One of my favorite places to go on a Sunday.

Image

Image

Above: Local fast food called agoulou.  Essentially an enormous sandwich. Note the cd case for size reference. They’re either terrible or great. This one is from the stand at the roundpoint of the old airport in Raizet. Unlikely tourist location. The name of the food stand I love: Cooking Light. HA!

Image

Above: Cafe Wango serves up fusion. They’re at the marina in St. Francois, a touristy location overall, but frequented by locals alike. Big portions. Delicious. Well presented. Love.

Image

Above: local lobster. Langouste. Caught by Pirate and friend one afternoon in Le Moule, at the spot called La Buelle (spelling? I don’t know) That was in one, one hour session. We also caught two crabs and about five fish. Prepared and shared with friends – what a life….

ImageAbove: I know it’s blurry. But it was so damn good. Carpacio de poisson, local avocado, and a type of ragout served chilled made with eggplant mostly, oh oh oh. Tendacayou hotel and spa is in Basse-Terre. It’s like roots deluxe if you will. Nature, cabin-like bedrooms, mosquito nets, there is even a tree house with a bed way up high, and a hot tub. Yeah! The meal was delivered to us on our terrace with a bottle of champagne. It was our anniversary. And that’s how we roll.

Image

The whole shibang.

ImageAbove: The night market in St. Anne has a bread guy who has so many different types of bread it’s incredible. Buy by the slice, they’re enormous loaves of bread. The night markets are excellent, and have absolutely the lowest prices on local food.

Image

It’s food. The rhum is made from sugar, there’s a piece of sugarcane in it, and a slice of lime. Et voila.  That’s the beach in Bananier.

6 Responses to “Food Obsession”

  1. Natalie Coqk May 2, 2012 at 16:51 #

    The Food is one of the best things in Gwada, that is what I miss the most from my vacations. Have you tried “Lambi”?

    • Girl in Guadeloupe May 2, 2012 at 21:07 #

      Hello Natalie, thanks for writing! Get in touch if you like when you’re here although I may be occupied with a wedding..heehee…I haven’t tried lambi because I actually never had an appetite for it in the states either…it’s conch? I have been working to find the good stuff – and I’ve succeeded – fresh fish, giraumon, from time to time a bokit – bad for the waistline but so so tasty! What else do you remember?

  2. les3fermiers April 25, 2012 at 00:07 #

    Cet article donne faim, merci pour votre passage à la ferme, transmettez pour moi le bonjour à vos amis, à bientôt, Clotilde.

  3. Linda Massie April 22, 2012 at 19:09 #

    Now I’m really hungry, and will have to rely on myself to concoct something to eat. Quelle domage!

  4. Sylla April 22, 2012 at 12:53 #

    Happy to see you love our butterfly island like you do !! 🙂
    But you made a mistake , in your last picture, It’s called a “Punch”, it’s made from Rhum (alchohol from sugarcane juice) + sugarcane sugar /or syrup + lime + a piece of sugarcane or not ….Enjoy..mais à consommer avec moderation 🙂

    • Girl in Guadeloupe May 2, 2012 at 09:57 #

      Bonjour! Oui je sais bien mon ti-punch! C’était pour expliquer que c’est de la nourriture aussi 😉 du sucre..citron..canne a sucre..vous voyez?

Leave a Reply

